Latvia is a country in the Baltic region of Northern Europe. It is bordered by Estonia, Lithuania, Russia, Belarus, and the Baltic Sea. Across the Baltic Sea lies Sweden. The government system is a parliamentary republic; the chief of state is the president, and the head of government is the prime minister. Latvia has transitioned to a market-oriented economy in which the prices of goods and services are determined in a free price system. Latvia is a member of the European Union (EU).