Cyprus is an island country in the Middle East in the Eastern Mediterranean Sea. Nearby countries include Turkey, Syria, and Lebanon. Geographically, Cyprus is a central plain with mountains to the north and south. The government system is a republic; the chief of state and head of government is the president. Cyprus has a market economy system in which the prices of goods and services are determined in a free price system. Cyprus is a member of the European Union (EU).