Tuvalu is an island group nation consisting of nine coral atolls in the South Pacific Ocean in Oceania. Proximate countries include Fiji, Kiribati, Nauru, and Samoa. The geography of Tuvalu includes low lying coral atolls. The government system is a parliamentary democracy and a Commonwealth realm; the chief of state is the queen of the United Kingdom, and the head of government is the prime minister of Tuvalu. Tuvalu has a traditional economy in which subsistence farming and fishing are the primary economic activities.