Samoa is a country in Oceania halfway between Hawaii and New Zealand. Samoa has two main islands (Savaii and Upolu) and several smaller islands and uninhabited islets. The geography is volcanic and rocky with rugged mountains in the interior. The government system is a parliamentary democracy; and the head of government is the prime minister. Samoa citizens rely on subsistence agriculture; however, the central government is involved with economic planning and regulation.