The Federated States of Micronesia is a subregion of Oceania, which is comprised of four major island groups totaling 607 islands in the western Pacific Ocean. The Philippines and Indonesia lie to the west. The government system is a federal republic in free association with the United States. The chief of state and head of government is the president. Micronesia has a traditional economic system where economic activity consists primarily of subsistence farming and fishing.