Mongolia is a landlocked country located in East and Central Asia bordered by Russia and China. The geography of Mongolia is varied with the Gobi Desert to the south and mountainous regions to the north and west. The government system is a semi-presidential republic; the chief of state is the president, and the head of government is the prime minister. Mongolia is a member of the Asia-Pacific Trade Agreement (APTA).