Kyrgyzstan is a landlocked and mountainous country located in Central Asia and bordered by China, Kazakhstan, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan. The government system is a republic; the chief of state is the president, and the head of government is the prime minister. Kyrgyzstan has an emerging mixed economic system which includes a variety of private freedom, combined with centralized economic planning and government regulation.