Armenia is a landlocked country in Southwestern Asia or Eurasia. It is situated at the gateway between Western Asia and Eastern Europe and bordered by Azerbaijan, Georgia, Iran, and Turkey. Located in the Lesser Caucasus Mountains, Armenia is a mountainous region with fast-flowing rivers. The government system of Armenia is a republic; the president is the chief of state and head of government. Armenia has a mixed economic system which includes a variety of private freedom, combined with centralized economic planning and government regulation. Armenia is a member of the Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU).