Suriname is a country located in Northern South America bordering the North Atlantic Ocean. Neighboring countries include Brazil, French Guinea, and Guyana. The geography of Suriname consists of rainforests, savanna, coastal swamps, and two mountain ranges: the Bakhuis and Van Asch Van Wijck Mountains. The government system is a constitutional democracy; the chief of state and head of government is the president. Suriname has a mixed economic system, but private-sector development is hampered by the government’s presence in the economy. Suriname is a member of the Caribbean Community (CARICOM).