Paraguay is a country in South America. Neighboring countries include Argentina, Bolivia, and Brazil. Paraguay lies on both banks of the Paraguay River, which runs through the center of the country. The government system is a presidential republic; the chief of state and head of government is the president. Paraguay has a free market system in which the prices are set by the market. Paraguay is a member of the Common Market of the South (Mercosur).