Togo is a country in Western Africa bordering the Bight of Benin. Neighboring countries include Benin, Burkina Faso, and Ghana. The geography of Togo is characterized by a rolling savanna in the north, hills in the central region, and a savanna, woodland plateau, and coastal plain in the south. The government system is a republic; the chief of state is the president, and the head of government is the prime minister. Togo has a mixed economy in which the private sector is emerging, but most of the population relies on traditional subsistence agriculture. Togo is a member of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS).