South Sudan

South Sudan is a landlocked country in Northeast Africa. It is bordered by Sudan, Ethiopia, Kenya, Uganda, Democratic Republic of the Congo, and Central African Republic. It includes the vast swamp region of the Sudd that is formed by the White Nile river. The government type is a republic; the chief of state and head of government is the president. South Sudan’s weak and underdeveloped economy is heavily dependent on oil and agriculture. South Sudan is a member of the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA).