Mozambique is a country in southeastern Africa. It has a coast on the Atlantic Ocean and is bordered by Malawi, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia, and Zimbabwe. Due to its shape, Mozambique has a varied geography with mostly coastal lowlands and mountains in the south. The government system is a presidential republic; the chief of state is the president, and the head of government is the Prime Minister. Mozambique has a mixed economy combining both traditional and market economic systems. Many citizens engage in subsistence agriculture. However, there is a variety of private freedom combined with centralized economic planning and government regulation. Mozambique is a member of the Southern African Development Community (SADC).