Ivory Coast

Cote d’Ivoire, also known as Ivory Coast, is a country in West Africa bordered by the Gulf of Guinea. Neighboring countries include Liberia, Guinea, Mali, Burkina Faso, and Ghana. Cote d’Ivoire is mostly flat with mountains in the northwest and a forested interior. The government system is a public, multiparty presidential regime. The chief of state is the president, and the head of government is the prime minister. Cote d’Ivoire has a mostly traditional economic system in which the economy is heavily dependent on agriculture and related activities. Cote d’Ivoire is a member of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS).