Guinea is a country in Western Africa bordering Cote d’Ivoire, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Senegal, Sierra Leone, and the Northern Atlantic Ocean. The government system is a republic; the chief of state is the general, and the head of government is the prime minister. Guinea is a member of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS).