Ethiopia is a landlocked country located in Eastern Africa bordered by Djibouti, Eritrea, Kenya, Somalia, South Sudan, and Sudan. The geography of Ethiopia consists of high plateaus with the central mountain range divided by Great Rift Valley. The government system is a federal republic; the chief of state is the president, and the head of government is the prime minister. Ethiopia has a traditional economic system in which the allocation of available resources is made on the basis of primitive methods, and many citizens engage in subsistence agriculture. Ethiopia is a member of the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA).